Life After Death Ft. Story Concept for “The Afterdeath”


Sometime growing up, I got the idea that in a past life I was a white woman with a white dress and brown hair who jumped off a cliff to her death.  How do you remember something like that?  I’m sure over time I’ve embellished what I think I remember.  It was a cliff into fog, which I imagined had water past it.  I think it was also cloudy, overcast, and it was rocky, with some overgrown grass.  The wind, blowing my hair.  Misty rain.  I’m not sure if I saw that in a dream, or saw it in a movie and remembered it as myself.  I used to tell people that’s why I’m afraid of heights, when it came to roller coasters, which now I’m not even sure is true.  I think it was more that I disliked the feeling in my gut when falling.

I’m not sure what to believe, but I think I believe in everything and anything.  I don’t want to rule any possibility out.  Life after death as reincarnation or life after death in the afterlife.

In grade school, I was in this program called Prodigy for gifted youth.  They gave us a long piece of paper and told us to create a timeline on it of our lives.  I started at the beginning, and continued til my death, added more paper, and went beyond death, into the afterlife which was as long if not longer than the time I spent alive.  The instructors must have been concerned as they contacted my mother, and had her bring me to a therapist.

That was the first therapist I had ever been to.  I think the guy was my mom’s boss or something, and she was in the room.  He just asked me if everything was ok a couple of times in different ways.  I think I either felt put on he spot or I really just didn’t have anything to say about it, but I think I just said that I was fine.  Would you trust a kid who said that if you thought something might wrong?  Don’t you think that they’d need more time to feel safe and be able to connect to their own feelings and be able to express them?  I often feel that I can’t even feel, or that I wouldn’t know I had any troubles even if I did.   Really.  Growing up hearing other kids talk about their childhoods, and how horrible they were, I always thought that I didn’t have any issues growing up.  I don’t think I realized how unhappy and that issues did exist in my childhood until my mid-twenties.  In any case,… that was that, and I left the therapist office and didn’t have to go back, as it was determined that I was fine.  And I was.  I just thought of the assignment as an opportunity to be creative.  I took it seriously, but I also had fun with it.

My beliefs are the same today, I still want to believe in everything and anything.  Even stuff I really should “know better” about, like Santa Claus, or the Easter Bunny.  I just want to be open-minded.

I think I’m more inclined to think that there is life after death via reincarnation, rather in the afterlife, though now that I’m thinking about it, I think that would be fun to explore.

For now, I’ll just talk about reincarnation.  I have always believed that what you do in this life carries on to the next.  Your soul.  Each life is an opportunity to get further and further in achieving happiness in life.  So, in this current life, I’ve eventually retained the wisdom I had achieved from my previous lives.  My goal is to get past that point where I killed myself in my previous life.  To avoid all the mistakes I’d made in my previous lives.  To be as emotionally healthy as I can be, and obtain the success and potential I feel we all have.  Those around us have souls of all different ages.  We are all on our own journeys, and are all at different stages.  I feel I’m an older soul.

The same Carl who wrote past his death into the afterlife when he was young, would take this writing prompt as an opportunity to be creative and contemplate it again today.

I don’t want to.


Concept: The Afterdeath
Normally people speak of the Afterlife as your life after you die.  So what would the Afterdeath be?  Your death after you die,.. in the Afterlife?  Hmmm

Life IS a game, here are the initial rules, until something happens in the universe that changes things!

There are 3 stages of existence that all coexist on the same plane.  Life, Afterlife and Afterdeath.

What happens when you die?  
Pending on your progress in well-being at any stage of existence, you will reincarnate in either “Life”, the Afterlife or the Afterdeath stages of existence.

What is progress in well-being?
Progress in your level of wisdom, emotional health/well-being, purpose, helping others, happiness, etc.  One ages naturally, and when a level is obtained or lost, one dies and reincarnates in the proper state of existence.  What we normally consider natural death is a gained level.  Most unnatural deaths are loss of progress.

What is the difference between “Life,” Afterlife and Afterdeath states of existence?

Life:
Life state of existence is what some consider Heaven.  You are in a Life state of existence when you’ve obtained the highest level of well-being, and you only leave if you lose a level of well-being somehow.  So if you die, you’ve done something wrong and reincarnate in the Afterlife.  But that wouldn’t happen… right?

In the Afterlife:
Life as we most think we know it.  Obstacles, and challenges.

When in the Afterlife state of existence, if you get a higher level of well-being before you die you will continue in the same existence until you get the highest level of well-being, then you will reincarnate in the Life state of existence.  If you lose progress, and you after-die, you will lose your soul and reincarnate into the Afterdeath state of existence regardless of what level of well-being you were (might change that to if you fall past a certain amount of previous levels).  So it kinda encourages you to always be your best, cause one strike, and you’re out from here.  If you neither gain or lose progress, you will only stay in Afterlife state of existence if you purposely after-died selflessly.  There are no accidents.  You would return with the level of wisdom, emotional health and well-being you had obtained up til that point, and you can continue to obtain the next level of greater being.  Otherwise, you will lose your soul and reincarnate in the Afterdeath.

What about people who just die for apparently no reason?  Children in an accident?  A baby?
Oh, there is a reason.  It’s possible they were a soul who had cheated into that current existence from another, or maybe they died a  selfless death previously, before obtaining the next level of wellbeing, returned, and they only needed one little bit more of life in the “Afterlife” to get the next level, and once they did, they were ready to start over again, to obtain the next level.  It can be a number of reasons.

In Afterdeath:
In ‘Life,’ death can be a state of existence, but it’s also an occurrence.   after-dying (after-die), is an occurrence.  Afterdeath is a state of existence after death in the  Afterlife.

This is life as most of us think we know it as, but much more difficult.

Afterdeath state of existence is what some consider Hell.  You have no soul.  You have lost it and must fight to regain it.  If you afterdeath-die in the Afterdeath, you will reincarnate in the Afterdeath until you’ve regained your soul, in which case you will reincarnate back to the Afterlife.  If you reincarnate in the Afterdeath too many times, without any progress, your soul will be lost forever.

 Where does your soul go when you lose it in the Afterdeath?
Gone forever, out of existence …

How do you regain your soul in Afterdeath?
Good question… it doesn’t seem based so much on the level of well-being, as it’s based on it being “saved.”  How does one save one’s soul?

Maybe it’s kinda like like redemption.  You must start over, reobtain and exceed the the level of wisdom, emotional heath, and wellbeing of the previous life from the very beginning, and do so without dying an unnatural death.  You will then reincarnate back to the “Afterlife” existence.

Is death a state of existence?
What we consider the dead, or ghosts is not real.  There is no dead.  The dead state of existence, or ghosts, are just lingering souls between states of existence.

Is there a lot of time between states of existence?
No, but for some there is more time cause they’re fighting so hard to stay in the existence they were in or in denial, and can’t move on to the next appropriate state of existence.

Wouldn’t there be a lot of ghosts then?
Yes, but it’s a state of death.  Of stagnation.  And definitely NOT happy.  Once they accept things, they can move on.

How does anyone truly know if any of this is true?
When one does regain their soul in the Afterdeath, they return in the Afterlife.  Some people can recall their past lives.  Some people have cheated Afterdeath and returned to the Afterlife.  Some have even mysteriously returned to “Life” or “Afterlife” even having NOT regained their soul.  There are many theories.

Can you obtain multiple levels of well-being in one life?
It’s possible, but normally, you move one up or down and you die, return in the appropriate stage of existence and repeat.

What is the goal?
Obtain the highest level of well-being to move into the “Life” stage of existence, and live.  Happiness.

How would anyone even know about all of this?
In this story, it’s revealed that life as we know it, is actually the Afterlife, coexisting with those of the living, and Afterdeath.  What we do in life does matter in that if we do not maintain or raise our levels of well-being, we will lose our souls to the Afterdeath.

It’s not known right away that one could still save their soul in the Afterdeath.

How hard is your life?  Are you fighting to save your soul?  Are you living with purpose, to obtain a greater level of wisdom than in your previous life?  Or is life wonderful, and you’re just living?

In Life, you live.
In the Afterlife, you struggle to live.
In the Afterdeath, you fight to save your soul.

What existence are you in?


Something happens in the universe of existence that changes things:
All stages of existence coexist as before, but something has changed, you don’t move between stages of existence in the same way.  It begins with souls only being able to move from one existence to the in sequence.

Eventually, the Afterdeath disappears, and there are only two existences, and narrowing down to just one.     The “Life” and “Afterdeath” are merging into the Afterlife state of existence.

It’s a one way trip to loosing your soul and doesn’t go back.  Or does it….

We are for the most part ALL living in the Afterlife, and for most of us, if we die, we lose our souls.

Life:
Life is no longer an exclusive state of existence for those of the highest level of well-being.  They are dying natural deaths and reincarnating in the Afterlife even when their level of well-being is maintained.  Everyone is susceptible to the Afterlife state of existence, the only difference is that when you die in Life, you don’t lose your soul.  You have one more chance in the Afterlife.

Enjoy life while you are there.  In the Afterlife,  you will be challenged in order to return to Life, and not lose your soul

In the Afterlife:
More than ever, deaths are no longer being triggered by the gain or loss of level of well-being.  Natural deaths are occurring indiscriminately.  It seems it no longer matters what level of well-being you are.  Why would one bother to obtain a higher level at all in the Afterlife?

In Afterdeath:
No longer exists.  Those who were in the Afterdeath state of existence seem to cease to exist.  All souls lost.

If we knew of all of this, why would we care?
Good question.  Why would we?  Is it just our human nature?  Does what we do in life really NOT matter?

What many don’t know.
If you after-die now, you could lose your soul forever, eliminating the Afterdeath state of existence if you do not progress to the highest level of well-being within that lifetime before you after-die.

The stakes are much higher now, as gaining a level in well-being in the Afterlife before you after-die doesn’t grant you a pass into Life.

Where your soul go when you lose it?
Though it may seem to not make any sense.  That regardless of what you do in the Afterlife you will lose your soul if you aren’t at the highest level of well-being when you after-die, it turns out the change in the universe made way for a new existence.  The system changed to a cyclical one.  BeforeLife or PreLife is where your soul goes after you’ve lost it or can’t save it and gets reset as a new soul in the Life stage of existence.

Is this what happened with all those who were in the Afterdeath state of existence when things changed?
Normally, souls would just go out of existence, when lost after the Afterdeath, and there would be NO new ones.

The powers that be decided to recycle them?  But why?

What is the goal:
Turns out what most consider ‘life’ is actually the Afterlife state of existence.  Your goal in afterlife is to obtain the highest level of well-being before you after-die.  If you do so, and you die, you will reincarnate to the Life state of existence.  Apparently it’s a lot harder than we thought.  People are at all different levels of well-being.  Some, like those who reincarnated from “Life,” don’t have much further to obtain the highest level, … right?

To reincarnate back to the Life stage of existence, one must either obtain the highest level of well-being before after-death in Afterlife, not die when already in the Life state of existence, OR regain their soul after it’s been lost!  But is that possible?

For many, who do not realistically have the chance to obtain that level of well-being within one life time, to save their souls, they have only one chance!

Don’t die.

How would we even know to do this, and how for that matter would we do it?

One man knows the truth,… but how can he stop from ever dying?

He can’t.  He looses, and dies.  The Beforelife/Prelife is revealed, and he discovers that you can regain your soul, and it’s all cyclical.

In Life, you struggle to stay alive.
In the Afterlife, you struggle to live, and not lose your soul.
In the Afterdeath, you don’t exist.

What existence are you in?


Why is this happening?
Just part of the game or is something up?

A. Maybe there is a balance and check system.  Maybe there is only
so much room in Life,… but who, what, how is that decided?
B. A higher power doing selective breeding.  Survival of the fittest.
C. Is there some other factor out there influencing this?
D. All NEW souls begin in the Life stage of existence until they stop
progression in well-being, then they die, and do to the Afterlife.  If
they continue to make progression in well-being, they will
continue to reincarnate in the Life stage of existence.
E. Is this happening in reaction to something going on with those
who are in the Life state of existence, those with highest level of
well-being?
F.  Are there those with forged level of well-beings?!?  Would it be
legitimate?  Who really is in the wrong?
G. Is there a conspiracy?
H. A cover up?


This post comes out of the shared group:
The Weekly Writes Prompt
The #WeeklyWrites prompt is given on Wed. & shared the following Tues.  weekly.  If you’re interested in participating and we’ll add you.

Read the following posts for the “Life After Death” prompt by:
Amy Chang
Jaysen Headley
Carina Jollie
Julia Leisinger


Life After Death Free-Write
Death after Life
Death Afterlife
Like a cat we have many lives
Your life after many endings and beginnings
Your life after another’s death
Do you pray for death to live again?
Hitting rock bottom, in order to live life again.

Always thought I was a woman who committed suicide off some cliff in a past life

When I was in grade school; I was in  a gifted youth program called Prodigy and they had us make a visual timeline of our lives that went from the beginnings of my life.  I made mine go until the end of my life, and beyond, into the afterlife.  The instructors were concerned and thought I may be troubled and told my mother.

Life.  Life after death is what we’re talking about?
Life,.. yes, I want life after I want to die.  After I’ve hated myself so much that it’s come around to myself wanting to live again.  I’m angry.  Fuck death.  Right now I don’t want to fucking deal with that,.. I’m trying to fucking live!
Life, live,…. how can I live.  I can’t live.  When I’m dying inside.

Free-Write with Amy/Carl premise
Exterior Day, at a cemetery gravestone, maybe a funeral.  A small group of people.  A and B are seen in mid shot together.

A:  [Voice Over] Do you believe in life after death?

Day – At post funeral reception at the home of the person who died.  The group of friends sit together, with plates of food.  A & B listen as people talk about the person who has passed.

A&B have nothing to say, and they feel awkward, as they pass.

Exterior House/Apartment, A&B get into a car or onto subway to go home.  They sit side by side.

B:  I feel so lame that I had nothing to say.

A:  Do you?  I didn’t either.  We didn’t know him very well.

B: Yeah, I guess.

A:  Do you know who you were in your past life?

B: I don’t know.  I don’t care.

Carl:  I don’t care right now, about anything I’m writing.  I guess, I’m just NOT a storyteller?  Well, I suppose it doesn’t help if I have nothing to say, or nothing I care to say.

A: [Voice Over]
I’m not sure what I believe in, but things happen in life that makes me wonder why I shouldn’t believe in everything and anything.  Life happens even after death.


Free-Write AfterDeath
ALTERNATE What happens in the Before/Prelife?
Perhaps Afterdeath is how you move towards reincarnating.  You die in the Afterlife, you don’t loose your soul, but you move into a new existence.  Maybe wether you loose your soul depends on how you die?  If you kill yourself, you loose your soul and you cease to exist anywhere.  If you Afterdie in the Afterlife naturally, you go into Pre/BeforeLife?

Then, you would work on getting back to the living via reincarnation during your life in the Afterlife… but then how do you reincarnate?   Is all of this conscious?  Do you know you are in the Afterlife when you’re there?  Maybe the Afterlife is actually what the living experience as life?  That when you die, and go into the Afterlife, you aren’t aware that you have died, but it’s an actual reincarnation of sorts, starting out as a child again.  That would mean, your current life now, could be the Afterlife?  So, is there really an Afterlife at all then or just a series of reincarnations?  Maybe there are multiple existences that you move from one existence to the next existence.  If there IS an Afterlife, is there a distinction between life and the Afterlife?  One goes from one to the other.  In life, you die, and you go into the Afterlife.  In the Afterlife,… it’s the same as life, but if you die in the Afterlife, if you Afterdie and go into Afterdeath, you loose your soul and never come back?  SO, in order to be able to reincarnate after death in life, in the Afterlife, and lose your soul, you have to not die.

How does one reincarnate?  Perhaps when one dies via natural death through what we consider aging,.. NOT by some accident or suicide especially, but truly just from time, and some higher power determining it’s time.

In the Afterlife, you must obtain a certain understanding or something in order for you to move on and reincarnate.  You grow older as you do in life, but what we normally consider natural death is really just you being ready,.. you having finally obtained that understanding (or whatever it is you need to obtain).

How would we know any of this, and how would we go about not dying.  Is that even something people in the Afterlife can control?

In the Afterlife, like in life, can be difficult and full of challenges.  Perhaps there’s something that actively tries to kill you?  And therefore, becomes something to avoid and not die from?  But why would there be something out there trying to make you loose your soul and not reincarnate?

The challenges, obstacles and hardships of Afterlife will try to kill you.  If you die in the Afterlife,… afterdie, then you will loose your soul, and go into the Afterdeath.

Life is the existence as we think we know it.  Afterlife is also the existence as we know it, BUT harder.   Afterdeath is the most difficult existence.  In the Afterdeath one must fight to regain their soul, and in doing will then return to the AfterLife with their soul intact, to try again to obtain what needs to be obtained to reincarnate in the existence of “Life” as we know it.   It’s an endless cycle.  If when you’re back in the Afterlife and you die before you can return to “Life” you will again lose your soul and go to the AfterDeath.

You can stay in either existence for however long it may take.

If you die unnaturally in any existence, you move down the line to the next existence, but is there any chance you can reincarnate into the same existence you were in and continue from there?
Yes, if you obtain the next level in wellbeing and die naturally or die a selfless unnatural death, then you will return with the wisdom, emotional health and wellbeing you had obtained up til that point and you can continue to obtain the next level of greater being.

What if you’ve obtained the greatest level of being, or wisdom, emotional health and wellbeing?

From the Afterlife,.. when you obtain a level above the previous level of wellbeing, you will return to “AfterLife” to continue to the next level, etc.  When you have finally obtained the highest level of wellbeing after cycling through the “Afterlife”, you will go to “Life” and live.  “Life” is what some think of as Heaven.

All the various stages of existences coexist.   Life [Heaven], Afterlife, Afterdeath [Hell] on the same plane of existence.

In this story, it’s revealed that life as we know it, is actually the Afterlife, coexisting with those of the living, and Afterdeath.  Meaning if we die, we loose our souls!

How hard is your life?  Are you fighting to save your soul?  Are you living with purpose, to obtain a greater level of wisdom than in your previous life?  Or is life wonderful, and you’re just living?

In Life, you live.
In the Afterlife, you struggle to live.
In the Afterdeath, you fight to save your soul.

What existence are you in?

Something happens in the universe of existence that changes things to the ALTERNATE:

In this alternate version.  All stages of existence coexist as well, and we are constantly moving through them all, but in succession.  From Life to Afterlife, to Afterdeath.  It’s a one way trip to loosing your soul and doesn’t go back.  Or does it….

One man knows the truth,… but how can he stop from every dying?  He looses, and does die, but then discovers you can regain your soul, and it’s all cyclical..

In Life, you struggle to live.
In the Afterlife, you struggle to live, and not lose your soul.
In the Afterdeath, you fight to save your soul.

What existence are you in?

3 thoughts on “Life After Death Ft. Story Concept for “The Afterdeath””

  1. I really love your post. I like reading your work because I get to know you on a deeper level through it. I love following your train of thought. It’s so different from mine and that makes it exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

