Marvel Avengers Alliance 2 – My favorite game is ending!


—-Due to this news, unfortunately I am no longer posting my 
PVP Strategy and Teams
EQUIP – Iso-8 and Slotting Priority for  PVP
and other posts I had started,.. 😦

WHAT

I woke up this morning, September 1, 2016, to play my favorite mobile game, Marvel Avengers Alliance 2 [MAA2] to find a notice to update it.

I was pretty excited as I thought it was a new update for new content.  I have been playing without a new Chapter or PVP for a while now.

I was unable to find an update on my phone for some reason, so I checked my iPad and the update was there.  When I booted up the game, I got this message:

September 30, 2016 is the last day,.. 😦 Sadness.

I had to read it 3 times, just to be sure.  I seems MAA2 is ending after 6ish months?  Man, I really loved this game and it’s predecessor which has been going strong.

WHY

What happened?  Not enough people playing it?  Why?  For one, I think it had to do with the complexity of the game.  It’s very Meta.  If you see my next and last post for this game, you can kinda tell that there’s a lot to it.  Thing is, the first game, MAA1 on Facebook was even MORE intense.  They actually toned it down for MAA2.  I imagine they anticipated that the mobile gaming crowd was going to be different from those who loved the first game, but I guess they didn’t tone it down enough?  I think for many it was too meta, too involved for them to commit to, atleast for this type of game.  I don’t know, maybe I’m wrong.  But, I knew it wasn’t a good sign when over a month ago, I remember seeing a info graphic online that compares all the Marvel mobile games and how popular they were.  MAA2 was like the 2nd or 3rd to last, under Contest of Champions, and Future Fight, and even Marvel Puzzle Quest.

Here’s an article that may explain what happened ..

NOW WHAT

What does it mean for future super hero turn-based strategy games like DC Comics Legends which has yet to come out of Beta?  Will that game just not stand a chance?  Or will it do ok, as DC Comics games have often been a lot better than their Marvel counterparts?  I really hope DC Comics Legends will do well.

What’s worse?  I had already started about 4ish other MAA2 posts, one I was going to post today, which I guess I will, and 2 others close to completion.  But now, what’s the point?

So, now that this game is ending, I can either wait for DC Comics Legends to come out to post about, or… maybe I’ll try Marvel Tsum Tsum


Read Posts on DC Comics Legends

Read posts on Marvel Tsum Tsum

Read more posts for Marvel Avengers Alliance 2

 

2 thoughts on “Marvel Avengers Alliance 2 – My favorite game is ending!”

Leave a Reply

