PINOCCHIO [Jaysen Headley’s Vault Disney Project: #2 Companion]


This post is a companion to Jaysen Headley’s Vault Disney Project, more info at the BOTTOM!

Pinocchio-en-DVD-et-Blu-ray_portrait_w532

VAULT #2: PINOCCHIO

The first vault film, ‘Snow White and the Seven Dwarves,’ I thought was a little slow, but this second one ‘Pinocchio’ was much more balanced! But boy is it kinda dark. I mean, there was always a dark side to the early Disney films right? In this one, families are subjected to turning into a donkey, losing your father, and being swallowed by a whale. Man, it’s seems so heavy on kids no? I mean, it makes me wonder what these films do to the minds of kids who grow up watching them. I think I saw most of the older ones when I was old enough to not be heavily influenced by it, though I DO recall that the older Disney films were a whole lot less upbeat than it’s more modern stuff, not to say they aren’t still a little bit depressing. It makes me wonder what was in the minds of Disney creators at the time when thinking of tone and themes for the films. They’re almost like parables. Some are even lighter versions of existing stories that were actually darker, like Grimm stuff. I guess it was just how things were at the time. All fairytales were DARK!

Anyhow, back to ‘Pinocchio.’ Boy is he naïve huh? ha ha I suppose he was just born yesterday in the film ha ha. Thank goodness he had Jiminy Cricket! Jaysen said Walt Disney added Jiminy later in the process when he thought Pinocchio was way too reckless. I’d agree.

Oy, Jaysen just dragged me away to play the XBox 360 Disneyland Adventures Kinnect game! ha ha. We just skied with Goofy, then did It’s a Small World, and then danced around with and as a Disney princess. Jaysen has a picture to prove it! Oy. And ofcourse while we were dancing around in front of our TV, people were outside on their balcony from across the street watching us!!!!!!! Argh! So embarrassing.

Yeah, so I lost my train of thought.

Jaysen​ Headley’s thoughts on Vault 2: Pinocchio from his blog.


BACK TO THE TOP
JAYSEN HEADLEY’S VAULT DISNEY PROJECTS:
Jaysen Headley asked me to re-watch every Disney Vault film in chronological order with him. We’re gonna try to watch atleast one a week if not 2. He’ll be writing a blog to accompany this project, and I will post a companion to it.

Jaysen Headley’s introductory blog post about his Disney Vault project!

It’s a fun project! And I’m also mixing in other older films Jaysen had never seen. Right now, we’re working on Arnold Schwarzenegger & Mission: Impossible films!

Jaysen Headley’s Vault Disney: The Others Project
Jaysen also started a sister project for other Disney films that are not considered part of the animated Vault called Vault Disney: The Others, which I will also be posting a companion for.


UP NEXT: FANTASIA

One thought on “PINOCCHIO [Jaysen Headley’s Vault Disney Project: #2 Companion]”

Leave a comment